Skip to content

Coupons

March 29, 2011

Ok, I’m starting to finally get my bearings in this whole unemployment game. I’m getting a schedule down and things are becoming more normal. It’s been a little frustrating and at first, I really wasn’t sure what to do, when to do it, how to feel, etc…

I’ve neglected this blog only because I had such drive to attack my debt and grow some savings when I had a paycheck coming in, and now that I’m living on those very savings, I feel a little as though I don’t have much to talk about. That’s not true, of course, as now is the best time to be frugal and watch my money. It’s just been a complete change and I have come to learn that I don’t do well with change.

But aside from that, I’ve never been one to use coupons. Here and there, sure, but I’ve never been an ‘extreme couponer’.

Well, on the way home from taking E to school, a blogger on a local savings site, CincySavers,Β  was talking about the great coupon deals this week at the local grocery stores and I decided right then and there that I would give the couponing thing a try.

I have all this time to get organized, after all.

According to this blogger, LittleMissKnowItAll, the first two steps to getting organized for couponing are:

1. Make a menu plan.
This will help you spend your money on the items you’ll get the most out of – the items you purchase often because they’re in most of your meals. Get a calendar, sit down and write out the meals you most often make. Most people eat the same eight to 10 meals on a regular basis, so start by writing down your favorites. The items you need for these meals are the items you need to stock up on.

2. Make a master shopping list.
If you buy an item three or four times per year or more, it belongs on this list. This shopping list is for every single item you purchase on a regular basis and will help you know what to look for sales on. This list helps make sure you’re looking for coupons for the right items and not wasting time or money on the things that look appealing when you see a good sale but that you don’t use that often in actuality.

This is my homework for tonight…and I will join you tomorrow with the results and move on to the next steps. If you’re already a couponer, I’d love to hear how you do it or any tips you may have.

Until tomorrow!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Positively Gigi permalink
    March 29, 2011 9:06 pm

    Hey Good for you in giving it a try! I can tell you, couponing helps my family make ends meet! Do give it a good chance, it could take a bit to develop a coupon stash and for you to start seeing the bigger % savings… BUT, stick with it, really. There are a lot of different places to get coupons (not just newspaper)… also once you get more familiar with couponing, a lot of the savings come when you STOCK PILE! You can take advantage of matching up sales with manufacturer and store specific coupons. Once you start a stock pile, you will have certain items that you won’t pay retail for again! You will become familiar with products that you SHOULD NOT be paying retail for and things that you can likely be getting for FREE! I have a few posts about couponing on my blog, perhaps some of the information on there can help you out. The last one I wrote was about how “I” sort, clip, and organize (newspaper insert) coupons. B est of luck with this!!! I’m a couponing addict and get pretty excited when others joining! πŸ™‚

    • March 30, 2011 11:39 am

      Thanks so much for the encouragement! The coupon game seems a little daunting at first, but I’m going to try πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely check out your blog…thanks for subscribing!

      • Positively Gigi permalink
        March 30, 2011 12:30 pm

        It’s really not daunting Jess…. just go into it: 1. KNOWING that you might have to try a few different systems of organzing and doing this in order to get to whatever works best for YOU! 2. It will take a little bit for you to get a good stash of coupons. Start by getting 2 or so news papers (more if you want to, but I usually like to purchase an even number preferably…this way if there is a sale on a product for BOGO –buy one get one– and your store allows it -mine does–you can use one coupon for each of the items!!! One for the one you a paying for and another one for the one you are getting for free! Double savings on the one you are paying for.) 3. As with much everything else, give yourself time to get used to it… this will be the biggest thing while you are learning the lingo, the your stores coupon policies, find your own system, etc. Best of luck and welcome to the club of couponers! πŸ™‚

      • April 2, 2011 7:05 pm

        Thanks Gigi! I think this could get fun…trying to see how much I can save on a grocery trip!

Leave a comment