Skip to content

Unemployment and Rollercoasters

March 13, 2011

So, I’m back. And let me tell you…things have been a little crazy.

I find myself in a very uncertain place as I write this, perhaps now even more qualified to talk about being frugal as a single parent.

First, I will apologize for having abandoned this blog for a little while. I just felt very overwhelmed late in January when some things came up with a personal relationship, and the process of taking my ex-husband back to court to obtain child support (more on this in future posts).

Things seemed to be falling in place when I was offered a transfer within my company, for a job that would normalize my schedule and allow me to transition to an administrative position in the healthcare field: something I’d been seeking for quite a while.

Unfortunately, I learned the hard way that people will protect themselves in any way they deem fit. Right before my transfer was to happen, I was basically thrown under the ‘malpractice litigation’ bus.

I lost my job on February 25th.

Scary, huh?

The evening it happened I cried myself to sleep, and then walked around in shock for about a week.

Since then, I’ve come to realize how very blessed I am. It is so easy to look at the negative aspects of this situation and just sit in a pile of my own pity, but doing that isn’t going to help anyone.

While I am still working on getting unemployment benefits, and never imagined that I would have to apply for food assistance or Medicaid, we will be okay.

So, where does this leave us?

Fortunately, this happened right after I got my income tax refund so the situation isn’t as dire as it would have been several months ago.

E and I have our health, a roof over our heads, transportation, food to eat, and electricity. But more importantly, we have each other.

I am applying to new jobs everyday, and I have faith that this happened for a reason. Not sure what it is yet, but all will be revealed in due time.

But, as I have all this spare time and a new outlook on life and finances, I have decided to write again.

I don’t know where this blog will take me now, but I know that wherever I end up, it’s going to be okay.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    March 14, 2011 9:10 am

    1st – It’s great to see you back on the blogging circuit. I think this blog of yours will prove to be a handy sounding board to many!

    2nd – I’m very sorry to hear about your job. The job market, though getting better, is still pretty brutal. At this point, I think half to most of the luck in getting the job is about getting your resume/applications to as many places as possible while not being too picky about what you can get. Remember, even the crappy cheese job still pays SOME money, which can be better than NO money!

    3rd – I’m sure you and E will do great. The aspect you have is the right one. Family is everything, especially during the harder times. Keep your E close to you and no matter what you’ll be able to weather the storm.

    • March 15, 2011 10:02 am

      Thank you for the warm welcome back and good wishes! I’m grateful that you’re still reading, and I appreciate your viewpoints on the things I’ve posted. Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

