Skip to content

Best. Gift. Ever.

December 27, 2010

Generally, now that I’m a grownup and a mom I’m not used to getting gifts on Christmas. I’m completely okay with that as I have more fun watching E be excited about her gifts, anyway.

I did, however, receive a gift that has me super excited. Granted, it was on the wish list requested by my special guy (S) but I had no idea how great a gift it would actually turn out to be until I got it!

Here it is:

Simple, right? I bet you were expecting something way different. Let me tell you why I’m loving this drink cup, though…

I am addicted to Diet Pepsi. I drink waaaay too much pop (or soda, as you might call it). Beside it being unhealthy, because that’s all I drink, it’s sucking dollars out of my wallet like crazy.

My habits in regard to pop boil down to this:

I will generally go through a case (24 pack) per week. Buying the Kroger brand, this equals $5.00/week. ($5 * 4 weeks = $20.00/mth)

I have a horrible habit of picking up a large Diet Coke from McDonalds to accompany me when I’m running errands, approximately¬† 2-3 times a week at $1.97/pop. ($1.97 * 3 = $5.91/week or $23.64/mth)

That’s almost $44 I could be saving per month just by using this awesome cup, not to mention the health benefits of reducing my pop intake!!

Amazing and eye opening, yes?

So, this gift has inspired my 1st financial challenge. For the month of January, I will not buy any beverages at the grocery store other than juice (for E) and milk (for both of us), and no drinks on the go.

The benefit of this challenge should be evident in my grocery receipts and I will revisit this at the end of January for the challenge update. Exciting and healthy way to start the New Year, yay!

What was your favorite gift this year?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 12:33 pm

    The most difficult thing is to find a blog with unique and fresh content but your posts are not alike. Bravo.

    • January 13, 2011 5:19 pm

      Thank you so much! It’s encouraging to know that my words can be interesting to someone other than me. I hope you’ll come back!

  2. January 9, 2011 10:02 am

    I want that cup! Somehow beverages just taste SO much better when drinking out of cups like this one!
    Oh and why not try some sort of tea? There are tons of teas out there that are healthy but still taste a little sweet and even taste good cold. It’s a good alternative when you want to reach for something besides water with a sweeter taste.

    • January 11, 2011 4:14 am

      Tea is a great idea! I like drinking different herbal-flavored teas so it wouldn’t be a jump…good call. I’m going to pick up some on my next grocery trip!

  3. Steve permalink
    December 28, 2010 12:55 pm

    My favorite gift this year is likely the telescope that Santa brought for my eldest daughter. She and I are both interested in Astronomy and I think it’ll be a lot of fun for the both of us. I can imagine lots of nights staying up and looking at the moon, planets, and stars together.

    I’m also interested to know what you plan on putting in the cup if not your Diet Pepsi?

    • December 29, 2010 11:24 am

      That’s a nice gift! I bet you all will have so much fun this summer when you can stay up late with it!

      I’m going to try more water, but when I need some flavor I’ll have to try using Crystal Light. Sometimes you just need something with flavor!

  4. Nicky permalink
    December 27, 2010 9:29 pm

    So what will you be putting in the cup?

    • December 29, 2010 11:21 am

      The goal is to drink more water, so I’m gonna try straight water but I know that’s not going to work all the time so I will have to use up all the Crystal Light single packs I have.

Leave a Reply

