Skip to content

Shrinking Christmas

December 15, 2010

I’ve been feeling guilty over my holiday shopping this year. No, not because I went overboard but rather because I feel I’ve gone underboard.

E has only been having Christmas for 5 years but in that time I’ve done a fairly good job of spoiling her. Usually, she’ll get one or two Santa gifts (usually something pretty nice) and about ten smaller gifts. This year, it’s working out to one Santa gift and about six smaller gifts. The Santa gift this year isn’t anything spectacular. In fact, I’ve yet to decide which of the lot it will be.

I remember the Christmas mornings of my childhood and the piles of gifts and excitement. I don’t know how many there actually were but somehow, my mother was able to arrange everything so that it felt like there was a hundred gifts under that tree.

I worry that she’ll be disappointed but it’s clear to me that I’m the one who is disappointed. Maybe because I feel like it’s my duty to spend hundreds of dollars on her Christmas gifts. It’s just not a possibility this year.

Christmas should be fun and magical, but with the constant cramming of consumer goods down our collective throats I know we’ve lost the true spirit of the holiday.

This year, Christmas will be a turning point in our girlfamily, both spiritually and financially.

What are your thoughts on this? Do you think Christmas is a time to go all-out for the kids or do you keep it simple?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicky permalink
    December 24, 2010 9:21 pm

    How simple is this for you? I’m not buying my 2 yr old daughter any gifts this year. Her dad bought her a scooter and grandma bought her essentials – underwear, stocking, TAG book, church dresses. As the year goes on and she needs something i buy it. Anyone who was interested in buying her a gift i told them NO toys. Cloths or books. My daughter has more books now than i had growing up.

    • December 25, 2010 12:36 am

      It hasn’t been easy at all this year. I’ve really had to keep myself from picking up “just one more gift”. I am really proud to say that I was able to resist the urge to splurge and I stayed within budget for gifts. It’s reprogramming our thinking about what’s important for the holidays that matters.
      I think it’s great that you’re having people gift her books! Reading is so incredibly important for kids!

Leave a Reply

