Skip to content

Why?

December 9, 2010

Why $ingle Mom Money? There are several reasons, really.

I’m tired of struggling. Many times this is inherent in the experience of being a single parent but I am pretty sure some of my habits have aided in propelling the struggle. Learning to work within the confines of my means is something that has to be done if I ever want to have anything to show for my work.

I want to be a good role model for my daughter. I didn’t learn to be financially responsible from my parents, and I want to make sure that E picks up the tools to be successful with money. It makes a world of difference!

Why blog about it?

Accountability. As a single parent, I don’t have a built-in accountability partner. This is a way that I can keep track of the things that interest me and are relevant to the personal finances of single parents.

Relevance. There are a handful of blogs about single parent finance out there and it seems that over the years they’ve existed they have become less concentrated on finances and more focused on other aspects of life (which is great, don’t get me wrong…I just haven’t found anything online that is what I want this blog to be). I also enjoy reading other personal finance blogs, but after a while it can get frustrating to hear about how difficult it is to be a two-income family living on one income while using the other to swiftly pay off bills.

While I’m not a personal finance professional by any stretch of the imagination, I hope to make personal finance for the single parent doable.

I would love to hear any comments, good or bad. Discussion is a great thing, and I encourage it.

Is there anything you want to talk about?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicky permalink
    December 24, 2010 9:13 pm

    Talk about any and everything. You never know what post will inspire or help someone. I’m not a single mom but i was raised by one and i know how hard it is. Will be reading your blog daily so keep the posts coming. i have a 2yr old daughter

    • December 25, 2010 12:29 am

      Thanks for stopping by and reading! I’m so glad to have you! A two year old…I love that age; they get so excited about everything and are like little sponges for information. It seems they grow so fast, though!

Leave a Reply

